Chromotherapy or color therapy is an alternative medicine. It is used to balance personal energy, on a physical, mental, emotional or spiritual level.

The standard method of diagnosis used in chromotherapy was developed by Dr Max Luscher in the beginning of the 20th century. Chromotherapy dates back to ancient times, probably to the beginning of ayurvedic medicine. The indian tradition associates colors to the chakras. There are also traces of the therapeutic use of colors in the ancient Chinese civilization. Traditional Chinese medicine associates a color to each organ.

Chromotherapy uses colors on various mediums: stones and gems, candles, prisms, clothes or colored glass, for example. The colors having, at the same time, a positive and negative effect, chromotherapy functions according to very subtle rules.

The Colors of the Chakras and Their Position in the Human Body

First chakra: located at the base of the spine.
Color: red

The first chakra has an influence on the legs, the feet, walking as well as the anus and elimination. Its color is red. The positive qualities associated to this color are: tenacity, courage, loyalty and perseverance. The flaws caused by an excess of red are: stubbornness, bigotry, dull wit.

This chakra can be related to blood or marrow diseases as well as energy loss.

Red is considered to be the color of life and fire. Red is supposed to accelerate the rhythm of the heart, as well as to increase blood flow and the rhythm of breathing. Red is also called the color of desire. It is generally used as a support for circulatory functions and to combat anemia, asthma, the diseases of the larynx, certain skin diseases and chronic cough. An excess of red in the aura of a person can express tendencies to domination, cruelty, anger and vulgarity.

Second chakra: located roughly three centimeters below the navel.
Color: orange.

The color orange is a mix of red and yellow; chromotherapy gives it a quality of warmth and conviviality. The color orange is the color of the rising sun and makes people nimble and happy. Surprising results can be obtained thanks to this color in the treatment of mental illnesses, depression and pessimism. The color orange can be used to treat atherosclerosis, appetite loss, anemia, anorexia and digestion problems. An excess of orange in the aura of a person can express confusion, fatigue and pessimism.

Third chakra: solar plexus.
Color: yellow.

Yellow is the brightest color. It is commonly used in chromotherapy. Yellow reflects light in all directions and can thus create a feeling of detachment and liberation. Chromotherapy uses the color yellow to combat glandular diseases, illnesses of the lymphatic system and to strengthen the nervous system. An excess of yellow in the aura of a person can express a lack of concentration or a tendency towards malice and wickedness.

Fourth chakra: located between the lungs, on the level of the heart.
Color: green.

The color green is situated in the middle of the spectrum of light. It is associated to harmony and calm. Green is considered to be the color of concentration. Chromotherapy uses green to treat bronchitis, cough, inflammations of the joints. Green can also have a positive influence in the treatment of cysts, eye diseases and diabetes, improving the processes of secretion. The color green is supposed to promote the relaxation of the organs and the detoxication of the body. An excess of green in the aura of a person can show a lack of motivation or problems of lethargy, insecurity and jealousy.

Fifth chakra: the throat.
Color: blue.

Chromotherapy considers the color blue as the color of peace and infinity. The color blue is supposed to have a profound effect of relaxation on the body and the mind. It can be used to soothe migraines and headaches, stomach pains, cramps and even liver diseases. Generally, blue has a positive influence on pain. An excess of blue in the aura of a person can show a problem of apathy, melancholia, doubt and excessive suspicion.

Sixth chakra: located on the forehead, between the eyes, on the point called third eye.
Color: indigo.

The color indigo is supposed to develop spiritual perception and intuition. It is used for treating the eyes, the ears and psychological problems. It is also used to combat addictions. The color indigo is supposed to have a calming and sedative effect. Chromotherapy asserts that indigo can be useful in the treatment of absesses and to control bleeding. An excess of indigo in the aura of a person can be the mark of a personality that can be too serious, too restrictive.

Seventh chakra: located on the top of the head.
Color: purple.

Chromotherapy considers purple as the color of emotions and meditation. The color purple is used to treat the lymphatic system and the spleen. It is also used to soothe the organs, relax the muscles and calm the nervous system. An excess of purple in the aura of person can show a tendency towards fanatism and domination.

The colors of the spectrum correspond to various vibratory frequencies that are interpreted by the brain as different tints. They are undulatory phenomena and should be analyzed as such.

Doctor Francis Lefebure, a French physician and scientist, designed a method of personal development based on the systematic use of the phosphenes: Phosphenism. The phosphenes are the colored patches that appear when we close our eyes, after having focused on a source of light for roughly 30 seconds. Dr Lefebure has proved that the phosphenes are rhythmic phenomena. A rhythm being essentially a vibration, the phosphenes are thus of a vibratory nature. The study of the rhythms of the phosphenes allowed him to discover new laws of cerebral physiology that were not known before. The phoshenes stimulate the brain in a very positive manner, improving memory, concentration, attention, ideas and creativity. Their effects on personality are also particularily interesting.

Using sources of light of different colors can stimulate the brain in various manners. This is where Phosphenism and chromotherapy meet.